The Senate Transportation Committee conducted its final interim hearing on August 27, 2018, to hear testimony on the following interim charge:

Toll Road Penalties:  Review penalty practices employed by toll authorities throughout the state and make recommendations to improve customer service and eliminate unjustified penalties.

Chairman Robert Nichols (R-Jacksonville) invited the following representatives of toll authorities to provide testimony on their entities toll penalty practices:

  • Mike Heiligenstein, Executive Director (Central Texas Regional Mobility Authority)
  • Chris Miller, Executive Director (North East Texas Regional Mobility Authority)
  • Pete Sepulveda, Executive Director (Cameron County Regional Mobility Authority)
  • Kenneth Barr, Chairman, Board of Directors (North Texas Tollway Authority)
  • Gary K. Trietsch, Executive Director (Harris County Toll Road Authority)
  • James Bass, Executive Director (TxDOT)
  • Brian Ragland, CFO (TxDOT)

The archived video of the portion of the hearing on toll road penalties can be viewed here, beginning at the 1:21:20 mark.  The Committee will issue an interim report in advance of the upcoming 86th Legislative Session.